Daily Devotions to YOU – Thursday Thoughts

time-to-think

For today’s thought, I want you to start thinking about how you can think more.

Whether you realize it or not, you are so involved in the lives of everyone else, you hardly ever think about yourself. I don’t mean that you need to think about yourself in a way that is undesirable for you – but you need some time to think. We all do!

I want you to unplug for 15-20 minutes. Silence your phone. Turn off music. Get away from everyone. Find a place that can be your “thinking place” and go there.

How do I do it?         

I have set times of day, which vary by day as to when during each day they occur, but I have time blocked out for me and only me. During these periods of time, my phone is on silent and in another room. Note – my phone is in another room because if it’s on silent and nearby, I will think I’ve missed something and keep checking it. GET RID OF IT!

I meditate/think in my office; whether in my chair or on the floor, sitting quietly and focusing on breathing while allowing all of the rapid-fire thoughts fly through my head to make way for me to hone in and focus on what I consciously want to think about.

I call these Ground Thoughts. To me, as I explain to myself, there are two types of Ground Thoughts; Foreground and Background. Foreground Thoughts are those that are in your conscious focus, while the Background Thoughts are happening as the continual loop of thoughts you think, that you don’t necessarily hear at the same internal volume that you do of the Foreground Thoughts.

When I perform my daily meditation on the floor of my office, (which I am calling my “daily devotion to me” for this article) the initial stage of meditation is where all the Background Thoughts flood in and through my mind. I willfully open the gates and allow them to flow, absorb my entire mind and continue to flow away from me. As those thoughts have escaped, my Foreground Thoughts enter my consciousness and I actively explore the various layers of those thoughts. These are thoughts of what I want, how I feel and how I want to feel.

I continue the meditation for fifteen minutes and when my internal clock says, “time’s up” I get back to my day. But the very act of devoting 15-20 minutes of my day to ME is what allows me to tend to everyone else, their needs and any other wonders that arrive to make up my days.

Think about how much time you’re devoting to your own thoughts. Look at your life. Do you love it? Do you hate it? Do you have a list of changes you want to make? Thoughts are the root of all creation so if you don’t think about it, you’ll never get it.

George Bernard Shaw famously said, “Imagination is the beginning of creation. You imagine what you desire, you will what you imagine and at last, you create what you will.”

You have some thinking to do.

If you begin subscribing to this blog you will receive articles via email so you can start your day with positivity and an amplified attitude! If you still need to subscribe, it’s very easy to do so! Just enter your email to the right and click “Follow” – then go check your email and confirm that you want to follow the blog. It’s that easy!

 

Johnny Bergstrom, Msc.D. is a Doctor of Metaphysical Science and an accomplished Metaphysician, Speaker, Author, Law of Attraction Expert and Health & Wellness Coach. He has the “gift of ignition” – an innate ability to spark the internal fires and personal passions in just about every person he works with. Whether it is through a motivational speech, corporate pep talk, or the keynote at your next corporate function – Dr. Bergstrom is just the spark you need to ignite a raging fire throughout your organization! TeamJohnny, Inc. is based in North Palm Beach, Florida. He can be reached by emailing Johnny@goteamjohnny.com, or through his website, www.goteamjohnny.com

©TeamJohnny, Inc. 2015 All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

