Tuesday Trainer – Commit to You

Copyright Johnny Potrekus

Today’s article is about you committing to “you.” Yesterday’s Monday Motivator was so motivating that it made me wonder, what motivates people? I began to go through the list of responses I have received from people over the years when asked that question, and the number of responses that were given that was based upon what other people thought, was astronomical.

Whatever people did – whether they lost weight, got healthy, stopped smoking, joined a gym, ate better, got mammograms – was done not for themselves – but for someone or something else.

I had clients that lost weight because “Johnny expects me to” not because they necessarily wanted to. The expectation that I had for their success was a motivator for them. However, after all was said and done, what would they do if they weren’t checking in with me about them?

We seem to live for everyone and everything else EXCEPT for ourselves. We allow the opinions of others to mold every decision. We wonder what people say about us, what they think about us, what we should do with our lives according to them – and quite frankly, what other people think of you is none of your business. Keep your nose out of the lives of others and point it in the direction YOU want to go. I know, with social media and the constant bombardment of who is doing what it gets hard – but you know what’s even harder? When you have to deal with the silence; when everyone you think cares about you deserts you, leaving you with the magic three, “Me, Myself and I.”

Now all of a sudden, those people that you lived your life for, whose thoughts and opinions always had your full attention have been silenced and your system of validation for creation is defunct. Now what? I guess you’ll have to start wondering what YOU think of you.

For example, today I went to the beach during my lunch hour. I have a passion for photography and I took some incredible pictures. The photo you see at the top of this article is from today. I went to the beach because I wanted to. I have a standing commitment to myself to do at least one nice thing for myself every day. Sometimes I get to do more than one thing, (woohoo!) but it’s very easy to forget oneself and we have to make sure we get on the list. Everyone should commit to taking time to do what they WANT to do rather than what they always HAVE to do.

Further, a big part of life is honoring your commitments. Commit to anything that you want to – commit to exercising; commit to eating right; commit to meditating and finding your inner peace; commit to thinking since thinking is what is creating your life; commit to enhancing your relationships by caring about others, simply because we are one in the same. Whatever you decide to commit to, realize that you are making a promise to yourself that you are doing it and you don’t break promises to yourself, EVER.

“The word ‘commitment’ has an “I” right in the middle. “I” am the very center of everything I commit to and without “mi”, the commitment is worthless.” Honor your commitments; honor yourself.

If you are a subscriber to my blog you will receive the article via email so you can start your day with positivity and an amplified attitude! If you still need to subscribe, it’s very easy to do so! Just enter your email to the right and click “Follow” – then go check your email and confirm that you want to follow the blog. It’s that easy!

 

Johnny Potrekus, M.Msc is a Master of Metaphysical Science and an accomplished Metaphysician, Speaker, Author, Law of Attraction Expert and Health & Wellness Coach. He has the “gift of ignition” – an innate ability to spark the internal fires and personal passions in just about every person he works with. Whether it is through a motivational speech, corporate pep talk, or the keynote at your next corporate function – Johnny Potrekus is just the spark you need to ignite a raging fire throughout your organization! TeamJohnny, Inc. is based in North Palm Beach, Florida. He can be reached by emailing Johnny@goteamjohnny.com, or through his website, www.goteamjohnny.com

©TeamJohnny, Inc. 2015 All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

