Cruise to Lose!

Cruise to Lose!

I’m about to go on vacation and it has taken a lot of preparation in many ways. The vacation entails an 11-day transatlantic cruise with a stop in Funchal, Portugal prior to a 4-day jaunt in Barcelona, Spain before returning to the States.

We will be at sea for seven days before we reach Portugal and when you think about being on a cruise ship for seven days straight, you wonder what you will do to keep yourself occupied. Granted, it’s a vacation and the point is to relax and do as little as possible, right? Yes and no. If you have a history of an eating disorder, one where you eat for the sake of eating, seven days at sea could seem like a recipe for disaster.

How am I going to handle it?

I’ve given it a lot of thought and I have decided that this vacation will involve food, but it will NOT involve souvenir weight. The point of the vacation is to relax, recharge and reboot. I can’t reboot if I am stuffing my face with sweets, burgers, fries, ice cream and as much chocolate as I can gorge myself on during the chocolate affair. I CAN recharge and reboot with healthier foods like fish, vegetables, fruits, plenty of water and exercise.

A blessing in disguise is that cruise portions in dining rooms tend to be small and that is most helpful. I plan to avoid most of the delicious bread baskets, drink a full glass of water as soon as I sit down and order the vegetable appetizer immediately. When the entrée comes, I won’t be starving and I’ll be so enveloped in the goings-on of dinner that the habitual need to continue eating will cease.

I plan on returning to the States refreshed, rejuvenated, rebooted and renewed. I do not plan to return heavier, stuffed, in need of a detox or any other crazy recovery method. Just because I am out there exploring the world doesn’t mean that everything I practice on a day to day basis, the habits that form my life, will just vanish and fall by the wayside. I CAN do it, I WILL do it and I AM IN CONTROL.

It’s a vacation – not a sentence.

GO TEAM!!

561-536-6316
TeamJohnnyUSA@gmail.com
Facebook.com/teamjohnnyinc
Twitter @teamjohnnyusa

©TeamJohnny, Inc. 2013 All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Cruise to Lose!

  1. words to live by every day.. Johnny I am struggling to get motivated to get weight. of that I have put back on since my initial loss and your words of encouragement really help! Bon voyage!!!

Leave a Reply

