Weekend Syndrome

Did you feel that? Did you feel that tingly, burning feeling on your face from getting b**chslapped by your weekend eating?

Does this sound familiar? “I am good all week but once it gets to be Friday night, I just want to let loose, have some wine, eat a little bit of this and a little bit of that and enjoy myself!”

How about this? “Friday night came and my week went to hell in a hand-basket. We started with some crackers, cheese and a little wine. It ended up being crackers, cheese, wine, pizza, more wine, more pizza, more cheese, more crackers and another glass of wine to help me cope with my behavior after having an unplanned eating binge.”

Usually, the latter is followed by guilt on Saturday, which leads to the thought of, “Why bother? “, which leads to more crazy food choices on Saturday followed by more regret on Sunday.

Why do we do this to ourselves? Why do we seem to lose control over ourselves when it comes to food? Why do we lose sight of our goals just because the day changes?

Apparently, our goals are not big enough. A good goal is a good goal to have – a GREAT goal is a GREAT goal to have.

When I was losing my 120 pounds back in 2007, I had a GREAT goal. I didn’t care how long it took, I didn’t care how much food I turned down, I didn’t care how many life events I experienced without taking part in the food aspect of them – I wanted to get to my goal weight and I wanted that goal weight more than I wanted that next bite.

Great goals are goals that mean so much to us, that we are willing to walk, turn and run away from any deterrent that rears its ugly head. Just last night I found myself in two different CVS stores. Each time I walked in by myself for what was needed. I cruised down the Halloween candy aisle to say hi to some old friends. You know – Baby Ruth, Butterfinger, Heath, PayDay, and a few others.

My old homeboy M&Ms gave me the biggest greeting, as did his whole entourage. You know – Mint, Raspberry, Peanut, Peanut Butter, Pretzel, Coconut, Dark, Milk, Cherry  – I mean, they were ALL there! Of course, I can’t forget about the rest of my “peeps”, too. In both stores, I hung out with my old homeboy M for a while…we walked up and down some aisles together, shared a few laughs, read a magazine – even waited in line together. Yet, right before M&Ms almost came home with me, I remembered that the relationship we had was in the past now and it just wouldn’t be right to pick up where we left off. Twice, I left M on a display somewhere and continued to checkout, alone. I got in my car, drove away and felt a little sad but at the same time I felt good. I knew it was for the best.

 

 

 

My goal is greater than my old habits. My goal is so powerful; achieving it exceeds all other options, chances and potential foul-ups. My goal is so amazing that it feels like the massive goal I had five years ago and because of its magnitude, it will be achieved.

If your weekend was a little crazy, don’t beat yourself up. Remember – you’ve already been slapped – are you a sucker for punishment? Take today to think about that brand new, huge, awesome goal. What do you want to do? Where do you want to go? What do you want to look like? How do you want to feel?

 

Let’s discuss.

 

GO TEAM!

©TeamJohnny, Inc. 2012 All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

